ANNUAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 09, 2024

The Annual Town Meeting for Maine Township was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Clerk Peter Gialamas. Clerk Gialamas welcomed everyone to the Maine Township 173rd Annual Town meeting.

Clerk Gialamas asked everyone to rise and the Park Ridge Boy Scouts Troop #76 presented the Colors and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Gialamas announced that the purpose of the meeting was to inform the electorate of our Township's financial status and to act upon certain resolutions to be presented at the meeting.

Clerk Gialamas introduced his most efficient staff: Deputy Clerk Jessica Guzman, Deputy Clerk Cat Ryder, and Chief Deputy Clerk Eva Magnowski. He stated that these employees are responsible for making the Clerk's office operate smoothly and thanked every one of them. He pointed out that his Staff strives to provide exceptional customer service in our Township and the residents are our number one priority.

Clerk Gialamas stated that he was proud to announce that in the fiscal year 2023-2024, his office processed 1,864 passport applications which generated \$48,779.60 in revenue and we sold 213 license plates renewal stickers which generated \$1,067.90. Clerk Gialamas invited everyone to the next National Night Out on Tuesday, August 6th.

Next, Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Elected Officials, starting with Trustees the Honorable: Kimberly Jones, Kelly Horvath, James Maher, and Asif Malik, who could not be here because he was attending Ramadan back in Pakistan, Highway Commissioner, the Honorable Ed Beauvais, and Assessor, the Honorable Susan Moylan Krey who also was absent at the moment. Lastly, Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Supervisor, the Honorable Karen Dimond.

Clerk Gialamas recognized Trustee Jones to make a nomination for a moderator. Trustee Jones nominated Honorable Denise Foppiano-Gialamas to serve as Moderator of the meeting. There were no other nominations and it was seconded by Trustee Maher. The motion was approved and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Clerk Gialamas administered the Oath of Moderator to Honorable Denise Foppiano-Gialamas.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas stated that she was honored to be here tonight. Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas appointed Maine Township Trustee Maher as Parliamentarian.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas asked Clerk Gialamas to present the minutes of the 2023 Annual Town Meeting for approval. Clerk Gialamas stated that the minutes were distributed earlier and requested that the minutes be approved and that the reading be waived. Mr. Bartsch made a motion to approve the 2023 Annual Town Meeting minutes and it was seconded by Trustee Jones. The motion to waive the reading and approve the minutes passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas asked if there were any special meetings held during the fiscal year 2023-2024. Clerk Gialamas stated that we did not hold any special meetings.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas asked Clerk Gialamas if the Annual Financial Reports for the General Town, General Assistance, and Road & Bridge Funds were distributed before the Annual Town meeting. Clerk Gialamas stated that the Annual Financial Reports were distributed before the Annual Town meeting.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas asked Supervisor Dimond to present her Annual Report and introduce the Maine Township staff.

Supervisor Dimond presented the Supervisor's Annual Report.

See attached.

Supervisor Dimond welcomed everyone at the Maine Township's Annual Town Meeting.

Supervisor Dimond stated that she is very happy and proud to be a Supervisor of Maine Township, and she hopes that the Maine Township goes on to observe many more annual meetings in the future as it has in the past. Supervisor Dimond presented some of the many services and activities that have been provided by Mane Township

during the past year thanks to our hard-working Staff, volunteers, and dedicated elected officials.

Supervisor Dimond introduced the Maine Township Department Heads: Liz Coy, Marie Dachniwsky, Richard Lyon, Marty Cook, Nick Kanehl, Kathy Sabbini, Mike Samaan, Nader Ghazaleh, Jack Wisniewski and Administrator Dayna Berman. She briefly presented the services of each department and their importance. All Department Heads introduced their office Staff.

Highway Commissioner Ed Beauvais thanked his Staff for all hard work. He introduced the Highway Department employees.

Highway Commissioner Beauvais presented a 15-year pin to Dawne Hayman.

Supervisor Dimond gave special recognition to the Maine Township staff for their years of service and presented a 20-year pin and certificate to Victoria Rizzo and Mike Samaan and a 25-year pin and certificate to Kathy Sabbini.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas asked Clerk Peter Gialamas to present the Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award.

Clerk Gialamas with great pleasure announced that the winner of the 2024 Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award is environmental advocate Amy Bartucci nominated by Park Ridge resident Patricia Lofthouse.

Amy Bartucci is the mother of four in Park Ridge who voluntarily dedicates her life to making our environment cleaner, healthier, and more sustainable. In 2012, she founded Go Green Park Ridge and Green Drinks Park Ridge which meets monthly to discuss ways we can implement green practices in our lives, homes, and yards. She is a member of the Coalition for Plastic Reduction to fight plastic pollution and its resulting toxins and is active in SLURP which encourages local businesses and individuals in Maine Township to replace plastic straws with recyclable or permanent ones.

Amy Bartucci thanked for the very unexpected nomination.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas requested that Supervisor Dimond present the resolutions for approval by the electors.

Supervisor Dimond presented Resolution 2024-5 setting the next Annual Town Meeting for April 8, 2025, at 7:00 p.m. at the Maine Township Town Hall, 1700 Ballard Road in Park Ridge. The motion was seconded by Trustee Jones and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Supervisor Dimond presented Resolution 2024-6 to approve compensation for the Moderator for \$75.00. The motion was seconded by Ms. Jones and it passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas stated that she was honored to be here at the Maine Township's Annual Town meeting and she would donate \$75 to the Maine Township Emergency Food Pantry.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas announced that the business of the meeting was now concluded and asked if there were any more comments.

Moderator Foppiano-Gialamas entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting and Ms. Jones moved its approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Maher and passed on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Town Clerk	